First day at Hochschule Augsburg

15 March
Semester Start
at Hochschule Augsburg

Wednesday, 15th of March was our first day of University studies.
The schedule for the International Design Students was two Creative Labs of our choice.
Most of my classmates went to the one that was recommended for us: “Illustration Boot Camp”.

kek

I, instead, have chosen to go to Manual Printing since it involved learning and practising new techniques. The time-plan showed that it was supposed to be in the morning, starting at 9:50, but the classroom was occupied by another workshop. While I was running around searching for the tutor, I ran several times into a professor of Visual Communication. He was very helpful and suggested to join his Creative Lab. 🙂

After I found out that the Manual Printing will happen in the afternoon, I came to the VisCom 2 class where Jürgen Hefele invited me earlier and I didn’t regret this choice. It was a classical situation of my “coincidental” “fate”. 😀

Because the class was halfway through, everyone was already working. We’ve been given images that we had to alter or combine so that it would have a changed message in the end. There was relaxing jazz and meditation music in the background. We were even questioning ourselves whether one of the songs was from Studio Ghibli. The atmosphere in the class was filled with creative energy. I felt great being there. Although I didn’t have the necessary things to use for amending the images, the students around me were very welcoming and helped me.

NF_Augsburg_108

At the end of VisCom class we hung up all the images and discussed them. I found out that the afterwards analysis and review of our work is extremely important, it gave me real examples of how even a micro-alteration, barely observable, can change the whole image message and purpose. Each of us got involved in the debate, and luckily the tutor proposed everyone to speak in English so me and another International Student could understand. That made me grateful and I can’t wait when I would be able to speak and understand freely German language so I can return the favour.

During the break I saw that mysterious person again.
I was very happy that I got a glimpse of his presence because I remembered seeing him in one of my dreams before coming to Germany.

Later I went to the Manual Printing Creative Lab. We got introduced to the Theme, Methods and Techniques we will be required to use in order to create the final piece. Everyone introduced themselves. The whole talk was in German, but next to me I had a new friend that translated the important things. Luckily, the tutor, Anda Manea is originally from Romania, so I could communicate with her easily in Romanian.

The theme is Memory Store.
Each of us has to closely shadow someone (either yourself or someone who you see almost every day) and provide a compilation of evidence. This person’s everyday life, characteristics and nuances should be conveyed in the form of drawings, photographs and gathered objects and presented in the form of a pictorial diary. This collection should then be used to produce an object made of fabric by the end of the semester. This will be a two-dimensional object, using fabric as our material.

The final piece could be put together using implementation techniques such as cyanotypes, silk-screen printing, wood carving, any stitching technique, painting, collages, drawings etc. The challenge of using textile as a basis will force you to take a more flexible approach to design and will have an unforeseen impact on the end product, resulting in something that is decidedly “different”. Experimentation and an openness to new ideas is part of this project.

Nothing, no material, no technique is as capable of touching our sensual and mental existence so universally as textiles, particularly at a time that is in danger of becoming ever less sensuous due to increasing virtualization. Textiles with their abundance of weaves and textures that evolved over the millennia are the ideal medium to fulfill this need for sensuality.

Kunstmuseum-wolfsburg.de, 2014

REFERENCES:

Kunstmuseum-wolfsburg.de (2017). Art & Textiles – Fabric as Material and Concept in Modern Art from Klimt to the Present – Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg. [online] Available at: http://www.kunstmuseum-wolfsburg.de/exhibitions/art-and-textiles-fabric-as-material-and-concept-in-modern-art-from-klimt-to-the-present/ [Accessed 15 Mar. 2017].

Leave a Reply

